From May 21, 2009–What Price Fireworks?

Posted on January 3, 2011

1


   
WHAT PRICE FIREWORKS?     Edit
   

       Considering how much I love fireworks, you’d think I’d be overjoyed that our esteemed Mayor, James Sottile, did a crisp about-face and announced that there would be fireworks on the Strand after all, on July 5.  Because of budget concerns, he had previously announced that the Independence Day blow-out would be one of the events cancelled.    With very little fanfare he then announced that there would be a “family oriented” event on July 5.  

       Then I saw the “private investor” who had agreed to foot the bill, and I saw skyrockets, okay, in broad daylight on a sunny day.

       I think the mayor has lost track of the real meaning of INDEPENDENCE DAY.   This is the day when we celebrate our good fortune to be Americans, with the inalienable rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.   This is the day we show our joy in living in a land with a strong constitution and equal rights.

    This, above all, should be a day celebrated with the highest of ethics–and of course, six kick-butt howatzers firing rounds off the  bridge to Port Ewen.   This is a day when if would be patriotic to avoid the APPEARENCE of evil, as well as evil itself.

       As a taxpayer in Kingston (and a lover of fireworks) I oppose as strongly as possible, the firm of Mainetti, Mainetti, & O’Connor being allowed to finance the  Independence Day fireworks.   Even if they HADN”T ripped me off for $750 I would object.  For one thing, one member of the firm, Michael James Kavanaugh (NOT THE FORMER D.A.) is running for  Ulster County Judge.   Candidates for public office ought to be limited in the amount they can spend on gifts for the electorate.  Last thing I heard, buying votes was still illegal.

          The reputation of this firm (I learned, unfortunately AFTER I hired them) is such that I question the Mayor’s wisdom in letting it be known that he has had legal dealings with them.It might lead to questions as to why our esteemed Mayor would find the need for the services of such a firm.  There are enough rumors  flying around now like Roman Candles, he doesn’t need to ignite any more.

        And of course, there is the matter of my $750.    This matter is now under consideration by the Division of Professional Standerds, and if they find against this law firm, I will  set off a blast of publicity that will make the howitzers look like  water pistols.  I know the evidence in my case was not secured, my insturctions were completely ignored, I was not kept informed of the progress of my case, my telephone messages were ignored, and I was freakin’ told to shut up right in front of Justice  Gilpatrick.   The case is fully discussed in my Blogspot blog at Granny66-ragingranny on Blogger.  If I had wanted to be deprived of representation in court, I could have used a public defender and saved $750.

      Of course, I was fortunate.    There are people who paid this firm “thousands and thousands” of dollars only to be told they did not have a case, and were treated to the same unanswered phone calls, obscenity, and degradation.    (Maybe someone will be amused.   One of the charges against me was OBSCENITY.   Nobody with normal hearing who has talked to me for over two minutes will be surprised by this.   What was surprising was to be told by Counselor O’Connor that I had a “Bullshit” case.   (Too bad he couldn’t win it because he failed to secure the *&%%$ evidence.)  What was surprising was to return one of Consel;or O”Connor”s rare calls and have the phone answered “Who to *@++? is this.”  (Good thing it wasn’t Mayor Sottile, huh?)   There is a mimimum standerd of appropriate behavior that is expected of those in the legal profession……

       So the city fireworks are going to be sponsorred this year with ill-gotten gains….some cynics would wonder why I am dismayed at this.    Some people would say that corruption, ineptitude and lack of empathy are as American as Apple Pie and Brittney Speares with no underpants on getting out of the limosene made in another country.

    I don’t be;lieve that.   My distant cousin, Andrew Rheim, was a 13 year old drummer boy shot through the heart as he led the charge in the Revolutionary war.

        THIS IS NOT WHAT ANDREW RHEIM DIED FOR!  I MAY HAVE INVOLENTARILY PAID FOR PART OF THE FIREWORKS JULY 5, BUT THE SPONSORSHIP OF THIS EVEN MAKES A TRAVESTY OF WHAT JULY 4 IS CELEBRATING.   ONE NATION INDIVISIBLE WITH LIBERTY AND JUSTICE FOR ALL?

          Gee, maybe Hal Turner would like to finance the Children’s Day parade and some of the surviving Gotti family would like to donate a little toward the annual tree lighting ceremony.

    Anyone but me feel like flying the flag July 4–upside down?

       

Posted in: Uncategorized